152 Oficios St. on the corner of Mercaderes St., Old Havana ,
Havana, Cuba
(+53) 78011190
yes
About
Palacio San Felipe y Santiago de Bejucal
The actual full official (not exactly snappy, but charming) name for this brand new (Nov. 2010) hotel is "Palacio del Marqués de San Felipe y Santiago de Bejucal Hotel".
History, and modern facilities are combined in this beautiful building which originally belonged to Don Sebastián de Peñalver at the end of the 18th century and which passed onto the successors of the 4th Marques de San Felipe and Santiago at beginning of the 19th century.
The interior minimalist decor of the hotel contrasts with the baroque design of the hotel’s façade and makes the building unique on the St. Francis of Assisi Square. This new hotel, a gem in the heart of the heart of Old Havana, is lucky to be just a few meters away from the St. Francis of Assisi Convent where you can listen to some of the best choirs and chamber music concerts in the city.
From the hotel’s terrace, at the top of its six floors, you can enjoy the atmosphere of one of the main squares in the heart of the city with the Carrara Marble carved fountain Fuente de los Leones sculpted by the Italian artist Giuseppe Gaggini.
Oficios No.13, La Habana
Automobile Museum
The Museo del Automóvil (Automobile Museum) is located in an 1892 Neoclassical construction in Old Havana. This museum is divided in two exposition rooms, which share the entire collection composed by 30 promenade cars, two rigid trucks, a funeral carriage, a special vehicle, seven motorcycles, a semaphore, three fuel pumps and two didactic imitations. This museum has a very well preserved and interesting collection of old automobiles, among which are the noteworthy Thunderbird, Pontiac, and Ford T, among others. The oldest vehicle in the collection dates from 1905, and the latest one comes from 1989. Most of them are North American, although some cars were made in Italy, Spain, Germany and Great Britain. It houses automobiles related to specific people and others antiquated vehicles. An example of this is the Cadillac used by Ernesto Che Guevara when living in Havana, the 1930 Fiat from Flor Loynaz, or the 1959 Oldsmobile used by Commander Camilo Cienfuegos.
Ave Carlos Manuel Céspedes y Santa Clara, Habana Vieja, La Habana
Nuestra Señora de Kazán Orthodox Cathedral
The Catedral Ortodoxa de Nuestra Señora de Kazán (Nuestra Señora de Kazán Orthodox Cathedral), declared World Heritage Site by UNESCO, is one of the newest constructions in Havana, being built in 2000. This Russian Orthodox church is Byzantine in style. It has six beautiful domes, two of which (the biggest and smallest) are gold-sheeted, and the rest are made of bronze. Its staircase entrance calls our attention and is considered the second largest staircase of all outside Russia. From the interior, its golden altar stands out, built in Trinidad and the San Sergio Monastery, Russia; and the murals adorning its walls.
San Ignacio y Empedrado, Habana Vieja
Cathedral Square
The sumptuous Cathedral Square isthe focus of Old Havana life. Of particular interest in the Cathedral Square are the Cathedral, a baroque church, and the Museo de Arte Colonial, housed in a handsome palace dating from 1622. Tourists linger at El Patio’s outdoor café, sipping coffee or mojitos and tapping their toes to Cuban son.
Oficios, e/ Amargura y Churruca, Habana Vieja
San Francisco de Asís Square
This square dates back to the first half of the 17th century. Its location, just a few metres from the bay, led to it becoming an important trading square over the years. It is said that around the year 1600 the first fountain of the city could be seen at this square. In 1836 it was replaced by a beautiful fountain made of white Carrara marble by Giuseppe Gaggini, under the good auspices of the Villanueva Count. This fountain is called Fuente de los Leones (Lions Fountain). On its paved area stand two noteworthy buildings: the Monastery and Basilica of San Francisco de Asís, which today houses the Museum of Religious Art and a concert hall. It is also where the Lonja del Comercio (Chamber of Commerce) is located, inspired by Spanish Renaissance architecture and topped by a dome on which a sculpture of the god Mercury stands. Among the houses built around the plaza, the house of the Arostegui family, residence of the Captain Generals until the completion of the City Hall at the end of the 18th century, was erected.